Underground Reviews

Review: Mirrors – Fools Paradise

Review: Mirrors – Fools Paradise

When most people hear of an Australian Metal Band, they instantly think they’re from a capital city. While this rings true for the majority of Australian bands, rural areas have also been the starting base for some great quality bands.

Australian band Next of Kin emerged from the small Wimmera town of Warracknabeal in country Victoria. World renowned act Airborne began in the coastal township of Warrnambool.

One of the latest bands to come from these more rural areas are Mirrors, from Victoria’s Gippsland region.

Mirrors are a four-piece metal core juggernaut formed in mid-2016. Its members include vocalist Patrick Goodman, guitarist Tyler Taifer, bassist Jake Mackin and drummer Daniel Balakas.

With their debut EP “Fools Paradise” set for release on Friday, Mirrors have only just begun their journey.

Right from the EP’s opening track, Mirrors bring nothing but a level of aggression and intensity that carries through the entire 24-minute runtime. “Fools Paradise” is a combination of fist pumping, melodies, and pit forming brutality!

Guest appearances on the EP include Zach Britt of Young Lions on “Waiting”, and David Vernon of Belle Haven on “Bring Me Home”.

It’s difficult to choose standout tracks on an EP this good; every one of the six tracks featured on “Fools Gold” is a standout. From its opening “FYA” to its closing “Faded Away”, “Fools Paradise” is a stellar debut, proving once again that heavy music is alive and well.

Watch/Listen to “Tie The Lace” here:

Listen to our exclusive interview with vocalist “Patty Goodman” here:

Like “Mirrors” on facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/MirrorsAus/

Keep it Underground

Jase L Herbert


March 15th, 2017

No Comments